Getting a good blood drop for those that self test

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheGymGuy

I am probably going to make a video of this but here is something that I have been doing for several months now and has worked really well for me.

Equipment: I use CoaguCheck XS, but anything should work.
Lancets: Any brand you like will work.
Fingers: Any, including the pinky. Left hand only since I am a righty.

Procedure:
1. wash hands with soap and bring a clean towel or in my case fresh bounty towel with you.
2. pour medium hot water into a mug. Should be not be so hot that it's painful, but hot enough that its just about comfortable level.
3. prep your lancets, your device and insert your strip into device, and follow you device instructions.
4. place as much of your hand (the one from which you will get a blood sample from) as you can fit into the mug, its only 30-455 seconds, no worries.
5. as soon as your meter beeps and is ready, take your hand out and dry with earlier prepared towel
6. pick your victim to poke (I rotate through my fingers every week), poke said victim and massage from base of finger towards the middle
7. observe the largest blood drop ever since everything is nice, hot and warm and place said drop on your strip. <----- this is the magic, hot water gets the blood flowing and warms up everything to flow nice, fast and even.
8. let your machine do its magic. Meanwhile, you can use the clean towel to place some pressure on your victim finger and clean up.

Not sure if anyone else does this, but if getting a good drop was ever an issue for you or if you feel like you are steam-rolling your fingers this will ease the procedure and make things easier.

Best,
GymGuy