chris

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

collingriffin

I was just diagnosed with a bicuspid heart.
I am a 56 yr old man.
I am a veteran and they want me to have my aorta valvue replaced with a mechanical value.
I am willing to lissen to anyones experiences.
Thanks for your time. ;)

Bicuspid valve

Bicuspid valve

Chris:

What is the condition of your valve? I never knew I had a bicuspid valve until I had my aortic valve replaced last July. I'd had a heart murmur first discovered in 1962, but nothing was done with it. This was before echocardigrams, so it couldn't be properly evaluated. In '93 the docs discovered moderate calcification on my valve through an echo. I lasted until March '04 when the calcification was considered severe enough to do a valve replacement. I was finally starting to have symptoms (fatigue, slow recovery after exercise, etc.). When they did the surgery, they discovered I had a bicuspid valve. I was given the choice of a mechanical valve or bovine pericardial valve. At my age (65), I was told the bovine should hold me for a long while (18+ years), so I opted for that. I didn't want the hassle of blood thinners for the rest of my life because of my active lifestyle. I'm glad I made that choice. But at your age, the mechanical valve is probably your best bet. You can find all kinds of good advice and experiences on this website. I'm so glad I discovered it before my surgery. It made the experience much easier. Good luck in your treatment.

Randy

Chris,
Welcome and we'll help you get through the scary first moments of hearing the term OHS.
As Randy said, your age is why the doctors want you to have a mechanical valve. If you get a biological valve at 56, the chances are you will need another one about the time you are in your early 70s, a tough age to recoup from OHS.