Can't get my coumadin right!

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Consuela

I am new to the medication and go once a week for a reading.I had a valve replacement on December 13, 2005. I am feeling great and the depression I had, went away. I go once a week for my blood test and the readings are either up or down. One week, my readings were good (3.0). I thought I was on the right track, then the following week it shot up to 4.7! My doctor changes my dosage intake weekly, because of the erratic readings.
My question: How long does it take before readings will be in the range?

Consuela, it's so good to hear from you again! And really glad to hear the depression has passed.

It sounds like your md is making changes in your dosage that are too large, rather than the 10 - 15 % of weekly dosage recommended.

If you could share a little more information - like what's your range? What's your current dosage? What did your md have you do when your inr was 4.7 (did he have you skip a dose?) If we have a little more information those on the site who are coumadin pros can give you better advice.

Also - know that coumadin is a strange drug. But you should be stabilizing by now. In fact, most folks at 2 - 3 months out have trouble keeping it high enough because as they recover they are more active and coumadin is metabolized more quickly, requiring a bit higher dosage. It sounds like your inr is swinging wildly, which is why I suspect that your doc is changing doses too often or by too much.

Let us know the additional information.