Article on Weight restrictions post-surgery and exercise

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

big_L

I stumbled across this looking for more information on lifting restrictions post-surgery. Found it interesting and I thought others might also.

I'm a scientist and I found the 'vagueness' of my restriction to be unsettling (No more than 5 lbs for 6 weeks). Wow - then is 50 lbs OK at six weeks + 1 day? :D Obviously, this would not be very wise. The information about the force needed to open some doors is interesting.

I know what you mean. I carefully watched my lifting in everyday activities for the first couple of months. I was told that the sternum heals to about 80% of full strength at 8 weeks, but since I hadn't really used my chest muscles much for the first couple of months, I was more limited by muscle pain than worry over the bone knitting.

I do remember shifting my "approach" to some doors in order to spread out the force I needed to open them. Funny what we think about and don't think about. . .

Regarding the 80% strength, my surgeon told me that my sternum will never be quite as strong as it was, but years ago when I broke my radius and ulna, they told me that the bone is actually stronger at the point that it rejoins after a break. What the deuce..?

Regarding the 80% strength, my surgeon told me that my sternum will never be quite as strong as it was, but years ago when I broke my radius and ulna, they told me that the bone is actually stronger at the point that it rejoins after a break. What the deuce..?
Not to mention all that reinforcing wire! Like bone with added rebar.