Anyone heard of Exanta?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bryan B

Hi,

I'm a newbie here who's about to have a VSD repair and AVR at age 43 (just got over a bout of IE that tipped the scales). I like the idea of the durability of the mechanical valve but not the lifetime of anticoagulants (and all that comes with it). My surgeon recommends the St. Jude mechanical valve and mentioned that a new generation of anticoagulants with much fewer side effects are on the not too distant horizen. I did some research and found a few articles about Exanta, which is manufactured by AstraZeneca and is in clinical trials. With this drug there will be no need to monitor INR and no diet restrictions (it sounds too good to be true!!!) I was wondering if anyone has heard about this drug and do you know if it will it be approved for use in valve replacement anticoagulant therapy.

If this drug is only a year or two away from being available I would choose the mechanical valve without hesitation. I have a lot of decisions to make in the next few weeks...grrr!

Welcome Bryan! There has indeed been much discussion of Exanta. If you use the search function, you can find many references. You might also want to check out http://www.warfarinfo.com/ximelagatran.htm, which I think has a special article on Exanta.

Fixed Link-Ross

Exanta, if I remember correctly, is being tested in other areas first, and we mechanical valve people will get our chance later. Some are hesitant to switch from coumadin until there is a lot of clinical testing on other people first. One person said, I want to be the 1,000,000th person to try Exanta.