? about surgery recommendations for aortic aneurysms

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bigred

I had a ct w/contrast and echo today. It will be a few days at least until I speak to the dr and get results. The ct tech gave me a print out of a few pics but he said he couldn't copy any to cd. Anyway, I'm far from an expert but I don't think my aorta is near 5 cm, probably more like 4.6 or 4.7 (just a guestimate on my part) I didn't even ask the tech, I know they can't relay that info directly to patients.

Anyway, from what I've read here and on the internet, 5.0 cm seems to be the standard before discussing surgery options.

Is this the same for someone that has already had an avr w/a mechanical valve? What about if there is chest pain associated?

Same boat!

Same boat!

Hello, I think we are going through just about the same thing. Mine was at 4.9 6 months ago, now its 5.2 Ive talked to a surgeon 6 months ago, and Monday. He said he wants to watch it more....Im not sure i can with my stress level. This is the greatest place to find out what you need to know. Ive vented, and still, everyone here "still" talks to me, and gives me advise and just comfort. I hope you talk to someone and they tell you what they think needs to be done. If you need to talk let me know. Danny