6 Months out and considering a medication change

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oilman

Well I visited my Cardiologist today and reviewed my echo and rehab results. Everything is looking good he says, and we should schedule my next echo and visit for a year. Im feeling pretty darn good these days. I started riding my road bike 20km per day in 52min, for the last two weeks now. I find myself pushing harder each time I go out, and feeling very well doing it. I do ride with my Garmin 310 st so I can keep an eye on my HR. I'm really interested in getting into the best shape I can this summer, but doing it safely too.

I have my alarms set for 140 bpm, which I set off on the hills and once in awhile when I just initiate exercise. So I have been thinking about switching from Metropolol to Bisiprolol solely for the convenience of only taking meds once a day. My Cardio expressed the, if its not broke, don't fix it theory, but is willing to go down this road with me. It's just a lot easier with the type of work I do, in my opinion.

So now that I have his blessing and the prescription for the bisiprolol, im getting a little cold feet. Just wondering if anyone has done this and what was the experience. My resting heart rate is at 60 bpm at rest now. When I ride my average HR is 120-130 bpm. Like I mentioned before, I do experience a few spikes in HR. I also get PVC when not exercising, but nothing that last anytime.