Recovery Time...

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Dave5Baseball

My doctor's told me it takes about 6-8 weeks to recover after the operation. As an EMT I'm moving and lifting people everyday. Any idea how long it's going to take for me to do that again?

Also, I play baseball in the summer time. Should I be ok to play this summer? My surgery is on Dec. 6th.

I would give at least 3 months, perhaps longer, before starting to lift heavy objects. Talk to your Doc about it. As for baseball, you should be o.k. in time for games, but maybe not practice, if practice starts during spring. It's really hard to say actually. People heal at different rates, as you already know. It's more of a judgement call and informed decision by your Doctor. :)

By the way, what position do you play in baseball?

Last edited:
wHEN YOU leave the hosp they tell you not to lift anything, a bit later they say up to 5 lbs - next visit in about 3-4 wks you can lift 10 lbs and it progresses from there. I think you will definitely not be back to lifting folks onto guerneys for some time after surgery. Maybe you could just drive - but you can't drive for about 5-6 weeks, either. This is major surgery and as an EMT you know what that is. You won't be doing much stuff at 6 weeks or even 8 weeks. But next summer, as Ross says, you should be ready for baseball. Others will be along with information on their progress in 6-8 weeks. You just ain't well by then.

How long you will take to "recover" depends very much on how you define "recovery." You can define it to apply to the time you leave the recovery room or ICU. I do as much or more now (one year after surgery) than I ever did, but I'll never "recover" emotionally from that life-changing experience.