Pre-Surgery

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Adam

Hello Everyone,
My name is Adam and I am brand new to his site. I am currently 38 years of age and suffer from aortic stenosis due to a bicuspid valve. I am scheduled to have valve replacement surgery via the Ross procedure on Thurs. Aug.22, 2002 at the Heart Institure of Baptist Hospital in Knoxville, TN. My surgeon will be Dr. T. Pollard. My question to all of you (especially those who have had the Ross) is what to expect in terms of the days and months following the surgery. I've read alot of informative stories and posts on this great web-site. If anyone would like to share their experiences with me including what role close family members will play, i would very much appreciate it. Also, I'm especially dreading the moments when I "come to" after the surgery (breathing tubes, IV's, chest tubes, etc.) so any info or advice on what to expect or how to deal would be appreciated. Thank you all and I look forward to reading your responses.
Adam

Hi Adam-

Welcome to this great site. You have lots of new friends already. Everyone here understands what the surgery is all about.

My husband has had 3 valve surgeries, not the Ross procedure though, but others have had that and they'll be along to help you.

Best wishes and hope to see you posting often.

Hi Adam-
I had the Ross last year, 7-12-2001.
I had a congenital aortic stenosis with insufficiency.

What to expect? well, the first few days right after are pretty sore. I went in on a Thursday for surgery and was home by about noon on Monday.