Home Testing

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Don Giaquinto

I'm new to this INR testing and wondered what you folks out there think about home testing. I saw one tester that was $2,300! I haven't investigated the insurance covering it but I don't think that it will be an easy sell.

Anyway, input on this would be appreciated.

Don G

Don,
Contact QAS. They will help you look into the insurance coverage issue. You never know. I was totally surprised when I found out my health insurance co. covered 100% of the machine cost because it was not very good insurance prior to that.

If you can get one, I'd surely recommend it. Having it gives you much more control over your own INR, plus it's much better then being stuck with a needle all the time. ;)

Don, I have been thinking of getting my own monitor for awhile. After having quite a swing in my INR while away on vacation for 2 weeks, I decided to do something about it. I called my insurance Co. Tufts- and they will cover it 100% for the monitor and the supplies. I wanted to use QAS, but the insurance co will only cover it from another Company that is more local. I had to change PCP and saw my new one for the first time. She was receptive to the idea and called the coumadin clinic nurse up. It seems no one else that goes to this group has their own monitor. I gave them the info and should hear from someone shortly.
Kathy H

Don Giaquinto said:
I'm new to this INR testing and wondered what you folks out there think about home testing. I saw one tester that was $2,300! I haven't investigated the insurance covering it but I don't think that it will be an easy sell.

Don G
Hello Don G.