Hi All-Scared Newbie Here

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ross

I'm new to the forum, but not new to heart surgery, well sort of.

In March 95, I had a repaired ruptured disecting ascending aorta aneursym. I did not fair well on that one. Anyway, the surgeon who was lucky enough to have me as the patient, had to fashion a repair for my aortic valve. as everything was torn apart by the rupture.

Here I am in Dec 01 and have just gotten the news that I'm going to be looking at AVR very soon. The Docs have done 2d doppler study, Adenosine/Cardiolite stress test, Gamma Scans and the results are
1. Severe Aortic Insuffiency
2. Enlarged Heart
3. Enlarged Left Ventricle
4. Congestion seen at the Apex of the heart

At this time, they want to do a heart catheterization and then proceed to schedule the surgery, though I've opted to try to reduce the pressures with Procardia XL, Diovan HCT, and Labetalol. The results don't seem to be going anywhere. I think I'm trying to postpone the inevitable here.

I have a past history of Pulmonary Hemosiderosis or Bleeding Lung Disease, which has left significant amounts of scar tissue in my lungs, A left total hip replacement, Open Lung Biopsy, and the actual repair of the aneursym.

I never do well in surgical circumstances. I usually go into respiratory failure, shortly after surgery. Let's just say I'm "High Risk". The proposition of this surgery has me completely unnerved. I've tried to talk to others that haven't experienced heart surgery, and while they try to help, they really don't understand what it is like.

When I had the aneursym repair, I was totally out of it from March 9th to April 11th 1995. I have little memory of the surgery, therefor, when I came to, I didn't really have any pain.