Has anyone done TAVR on this board in last 2 years that was NOT high RISK?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Coryp, I am a surgical nurse in the O.R and I do TAVR surgeries weekly. And I have noticed that the criteria is easing for patients of lesser risk; when we first started TAVR program it was for the very sick and those deemed "inoperable" for conventional open heart valve replacement; and although my noticing is anecdotal (not scientifically verified), it seems the population is a bit more healthy. Below is a paste and copy from a web site:

MedStar Heart Center will be the first in the nation to launch a clinical trial, evaluating the use of a minimally invasive procedure to replace narrowed heart valves in patients who are considered at low risk for death from surgery. The Food and Drug Administration granted an Investigational Device Exemption, which allows MedStar Heart to use the investigational device in a research setting, and to enroll these patients into the study, which is starting this month. For decades, traditional open-heart surgery has been the gold standard for treating patients with severe aortic stenosis, an abnormal narrowing of the aortic valve in the heart. The only effective treatment is to replace the heart valve. The procedure, called TAVR, for transcatheter aortic valve replacement, is currently FDA approved for patients who are inoperable or too high-risk to undergo the open surgical procedure.
With TAVR, instead of opening the chest, physicians insert a new valve using a catheter threaded into the heart through a small incision in the groin or chest wall.