Engineering student designing a new anticoagulant monitoring device

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sammy Elashy

Hello everyone,

My name is Sammy Elashy, I’m a senior Biomedical Engineering student at the University of Texas at San Antonio. I along with 4 other colleagues are currently doing our senior design project where we design and engineer a medical device. We’re currently in the early stages of engineering an anticoagulant monitoring device similar to CoaguChek and Coag-Sense. We’re currently looking for feedback from people that are using an INR measuring device and we plan on getting this feedback by having patients fill out a quick google form questionnaire on what they want to see in a new device, what they do/don’t like about their current one, issues with navigating the device, etc. The questionnaire does not ask for any personal information, it is completely anonymous and much appreciated. The link to the google form is right below:

Questionnaire For Prothrombin/INR Device

Thank you,
Sammy Elashy

Last edited:
Hi
... so we can engineer a device that’s better than the ones currently on the market.
good luck with that. Roche has set a high bar and the Coag Sense before it started good and turned poor due to long term management issues.

I can answer your form in a sentence: the Coagcheck and my personal spreadsheet is the best there is.

Best Wishes

Hi pellicle,

Thank you for the prompt reply. I read in your blog that you had issues getting a large enough blood sample for the device to read and that you had to place a rubber tourniquet on your finger in order to do so. Is this still an issue you are still experiencing? I was maybe hoping we could address this issue in our design

Hi
Thank you for the prompt reply.

totally welcome