Durability of tissue valves in younger patients

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ben and Bonnie from Bob

Ben and Bonnie from Bob

Ben,
1. I replied- thank you!
2. I understand and Both my wife and I were impressed
with Dr. Grimm.

Bonnie,
Creatine is a type of protein and it measure kidney function. As kidney function becomes less efficient, some of these protein "leak" in urine. Normal range is between
1.2--1.9. It is like most stats- you aren't aware of them
till the dr. tells you have a problem. :(

Dr. Pettersson

Dr. Pettersson

RCB

I am a Pettersson graduate. Tell me what you would like to see in a PM. I always thought a PM was post mortum and I am very much alive!

It think that we should start a Dr. Petterssen Fan Club! He is THE BEST!

We all need to be thankful that our treatments have, for the most part, been a huge success.

John & Joann

John and Joann

John and Joann

I'll let you know about that Fan Club idea in a
couple of months- By the way, your first on my hello list
for the good drs. at CC.

Thank you for your answers.

It seems to me that getting some reliable data on durability of tissue valves in younger patients (say 45-55 years) will be hard if not impossible to find. I searched Internet and found one study following women of child bearing age with the first generation Bovine Pericardial valves. The valves had to be replaced after 5-10 years. That is quite a short time. I would go with a tissue valve if I can get at least 10-15 years (I hope 15) before a replacement is required. I found one study that claims that risk of second OHS is equivalent to 10-15 years on Coumadin. Unfortunately, I failed to save the link. The study in related to a particular hospital, so it shouldn?t be taken as a general rule.