Coumadin & Vytorin

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rwsp768

Approximately a month and half ago I was placed on Vytorin 10/20 and everything was just fine. Last week was in for my INR check and it had shot up to 3.7. I have been holding steady for the last eight months at 2.4-2.8. Doctor doesn't seem to know if the Vytorin is the culprit, which I think it is, as I haven't changed anything in my diet. Just wondering if any others have had this problem with statin drugs and Coumadin as this is the first statin that hasn't torn me up in someway. I realize that this isn't a big jump, but it still bothered me. So now he had me cut my Coumadin for three days to 2.5mgs. Before I was six days at 5mgs and one day at 2.5mgs, also I have eaten some salads the past three days that contain vitamin K. Will be going back later this week for another INR check.

Shot up does not apply to anything under about 7.

I would be hard pressed to think of a reason to reduce the dose for someone whose INR was 3.7.

The person managing your warfarin either does not understand it very well or overreacts to tiny bits outside the range,

Would this operson think of slamming on the brakes if they discovered that they were doing 37 in a 35 zone? That is how inconsequential this change is and why shot up should never be used with INRs that start with 3. (Unless you had only been on warfarin for one day and the INR was 3 - that would qualify as shot up.)

Hey rwsp768
I have been on Vytorin 10/40 for 5 months now and have not noticed any problems with my INR. I always try and stay on the high side, have been around 3.4. I am with Al and would not reduce my dose for a 3.7 reading.

What Al said!

Just as an FYI the doctor reduced your weekly dose by 15%.

My guess is that if you do the dosage reduction your doctor wants, you may go below range.