Coming soon...

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cuoricino

www.thoughtsfromabroad.com
So, can someone please tell me why I've been scouring the web for the past 5 months obsessively searching for OHS scar pics when all I simply had to do was nose around in this thread?!? :rolleyes:

I was too stuck around the Pre-surgery and Post-surgery posts to venture all the way down here!!

Well, here I am at T minus 6 days until surgery and I think I've got enough eye candy to last me all 6 days!

"This could have saved me that one lonely night at home when I went at my own chest with an erasable marker in front of the mirror 'just to see'," thinks couricino quietly to herself. :cool:

A few weeks maybe months post-op we do our best to hide our scars from the world... then later on you show of the "zip" and wear it with pride :D

been there, done that, got the scar to proof it ;)

I had a Surgeon that reminds me of Dr. Gregory House! but he sure can cut and sew :p

As for the scar issue, one thing that I really like that they did is that although it is a full sternotomy, the first two inches of skin do not have a scar because they stretched the skin up there and then sawed the sternum. If I wear something that goes below the two-inch mark, I have found all kinds of necklaces and pendants which hide the rest of it.

I can imagine that it would even be a bigger issue for someone of your age - at my age, a scar on my chest is the least of my vanity problems!!:rolleyes:

In any case, I would ask your surgeon if they ever do the incision the way they did mine.