Coaguchek Rep

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

big_L

I guess I must have filled out a form on the Internet awhile back and forgot about it. Anyway, the Roche rep called me about the Coaguchek and I received my packet in the mail yesterday. Looks good, except they won't do anything until you're on warfarin for three months. Wow, I want to start testing the first day I'm home. I guess it's off to EBay, then 'play dumb' and get a backup meter three months later.

I asked Mayo (Rochester) about it (getting a meter) and they said I was the first to ask. Unbelievable.

Before I go off and buy a meter on EBay, I'd like to know if anyone was 'given' a meter at Mayo when they left the hospital. Based on my conversation, I'd say the answer is no.

I have no experience with Mayo, so I can't comment on that, but judging from their response to your question, it must be a definite no.

I can sort of understand the Roche misgivings about the three month wait - they want to make sure that the patient is somewhat stabilized post-op and not relying on a meter instead of these more frequent doctor visits.

I haven't had any good experiences with Roche reps. I'm a bit curious -- you list the AVR date as 12 days in the future -- are you trying to get a meter BEFORE surgery, so that you have one on hand when you want to start testing?

With the exception of an InRatio 2 that was sent to me by Alere, I have acquired all my meters on eBay, and the only ones that seemed to not work were the ones that were 'As Is' or that the listing SAID didn't work. (I got these for the charger and case).