Circuit Training & Weights

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

R&N Brown

I know we have many runners and cyclist on this board, It pretty admirable what you are accomplishing.

Would anyone care to share what they are doing for circuit training & cardio?
How soon after surgery did you start?
If your lifting weights, how much and how often?

Rob

I lifted weights up until the time of my diagnosis. Then it was a year and half before my surgery. I cut back on all activity, but walking. For walking I did high intensity interval walking. (google it)

I started lifting again, very lightly at the 10 week point following surgery. Within a month I was circuit training 3x a week, as well as interval walking. By the 3 month point I was going strong. At 6 months I couldn't tell I ever had surgery.

my circuit consists of: 30 mins interval walking.
weight circuit- clean, alternate dumbell press, straight leg deadlift, push-ups or dips, hack squats, curls, calf raises, triceps extensions, crunches, all for 15-30 reps. repeat 3 times.

It was many years before I tried lifting weights again after AVR. My cardiologist said no heavy wts but never defined heavy and my wife construed that to mean lifting a finger. Not that I was ever a regular lifter to begin with but I would go through spurts with it. I have since gone well beyond 1/2 body wt though, but not as far as full body wt.

Cardio workouts I can do until the cows come home. I ran a 10 mile race yesterday and that's nothing unusual on my schedule. I can run 45 mins each day and 2-3 hours any given weekend.