blood clots and coumadin?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joy

I have a question on behalf of my next door neighbor. SHe had blood clots in her lungs and is on coumadin. Her and her husband are still young, and wanted to have kids later after she graduates from law school. They don't know what caused the blood clots. What should they do? Is it possible for her to have a baby?
Thanks.

I am a pharmacist who specializes in warfarin therapy. Please look at my website www.warfarinfo.com

Having a blood clot and being on warfarin does not 100% rule out having a baby but there are many questions which need to be answered about what caused the blood clot etc.

After looking at the site, please have them contact me [email protected]

Joy

Joy

I was told that in no way to have children while on coumadin. It can cause birth defects. Best way to find out is ask a doctor. My surgeon gave me my information on the coumadin and after surgery, the pharmacy people told me the same thing. So ask and find the answers.

Caroline
09-13-01
Aortic valve replacement
St. Jude's valve

coumadin & pregnancy

coumadin & pregnancy

It's m y understanding that coumadin is contraindicated in preganacy . ONe would have to inject themsleves with heperin:mad: I was told this by my surgeon .
Tricuspid vale repalment
Dr Valentin Fuster ( my angel )
Dr Randall Greipp
MT Sinai hospital ( New YOrk City)

Warfarin and pregnancy usually do not mix well. There are some problems with birth defects. Weeks 6 to 12 seem to be the worst. Unfortunately with many women this is the time that they discover that they are pregnant.