Vasotec (ic enalapril maleate)

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

Kym

Hi friends!
(i have a bicuoid aortic valve. last echo showed 3+ leak)

I just had my appt w/ my new cardiologist. He was excellent!
he did however say that the mumor "was not subtle". that surprised me because drs. usually have a hard time hearing it if they do at all. Is that an indication that i am steadly approaching the need for surgey? he did an echo to take a look, I should have that back next week. He also put me on vasotec. this is my first time taking any heart medication and i am nervous about it. Any insight?

thanks!
Kym

Hi Kym,

Doesn't sound like you necessarily need surgery right away, depending on the echo results, but, even if not, you are evidently going down the same road to surgery that many of us have already traversed.

Keep in mind, though, that cardiologists vary in how 'aggressive' they are in recommending surgery.

My first recommendation for surgery was over 25 years ago. A second opinion said that I might make it another few years, perhaps 5, 10, or even 20, before needing surgery if I took care of myself and properly managed my condition with meds, etc.

However, my symptoms finally worsened this last year and then I ended up in the ER and admitted to the hospital. Not surprisingly at that point, a number of different cardiologists and surgeons all concurred that my time was up and I should have surgery ASAP, which I did last May.

So, I would suggest not taking just one doctor's advice on when to have surgery unless your symptoms are severe. When a variety of doctors all concur, though, you better do it.

Hope this helps and Good Luck.