Mitral vlave repair/replacement on Nov.1st-need positive reinforcement!!

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Hi to everyone!

My name is Julia, I'm 38, married and the mother of 3 great kids ages 10, 6 & 3. I'm new to the heart disease game having experienced my 1st heart attack in June of this year while on vacation in Branson.
I had angiopasty to unclog my rt. coronary artery and received two stents. Approx. 3 weeks post-op I developed breathing difficulty and spent 2 days in the hospital where they discovered that I had fluid in my lungs and that my mitral valve was regurgitating. Since then I have had 2 echos, a TEE and another cath. to check everything out. My last cath. (Oct. 3) revealed that scar tissue has closed down the stent area 50% so that will be by-passed and my mitral valve is still leaking and they hope to repair it, though the surgeon admits that there may only be a 50% chance that it will be successful. So we also discussed valve replacement. He showed me what the valve looks like and answered all our questions and I feel very confident in his abilities.
Yet, I would love to hear from those of you out there who have gone through this experience and how you have coped. I need all the positive thoughts that you can share with me at this time!
Thanks!
Julia

Hi Julia-

Welcome to the site. What a lot of difficult things for you, at such a young age. But you're in the right place. You already have lots of cyber friends who've been there, done that or have loved ones who have.

It's a scary thing to have to face this surgery, but everyone here will reassure you that although it's a tough surgery, your imagination of what it will be like will be much more difficult than the actual procedure.