decisions, decisions

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
C

Cary

Hi
I'm new to this web site. My husband has to have a AVR and we don't have a good cardiologist or surgeon or hospital picked out yet. Went to Penn for cath test, and they said he had .9cm opening. nothing has really been explained to us. I feel really lost, and don't know where to begin. Thanks for any advice.

Cary

Welcome Cary! You've come to the best place.

Maybe you could fill us in a bit more on what part of the country you live in, how long your husband has known about his aortic valve issues, his approximate age and any other details you think might be helpful.

Take a deep breath, relax, you aren't alone in this - you're now part of our family.

RIGHT place!

RIGHT place!

Cary said:
Hi
I'm new to this web site. My husband has to have a AVR and we don't have a good cardiologist or surgeon or hospital picked out yet. Went to Penn for cath test, and they said he had .9cm opening. nothing has really been explained to us. I feel really lost, and don't know where to begin. Thanks for any advice.

Cary
Cary,
Welcome, this is a great place and if you search you will find a lot of information. Lots of people here have been through what your going through now, so you are not alone.
If you can share more about your husbands medical history, we can answer most questions.
Most important is try not to worry so much- You will be fine.
Looking forward to hearing more about your story.

I think my valve opening was in the vicinity of .1 cm when I had surgery -- but I was very symptomatic by that time; it would have been much better to have surgery earlier.