Blood pressure home testing

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

d333gs

Hi everyone.
I just wanted to share this ongoing BP home testing experment.
The past couple of visits to my doctors found my blood pressure up 140/70. Both doctors said it was likely
stress and they are probably right to an extent , the past year has been very stressful . So I bought a Omron BP tester. In the morning before coffee my readings were low to mid 130s . But sure enough, during the day readings were up in the 140s & 150s . At one point this week I started playing with the machine and taking multiple readings in one sitting And as my attention shifted from the fact that my mother-in-law will be euthanized next week to how the machine worked, my BP slowly dropped to the mid 130s and stayed there for 3 or 4 readings. The mid 130s is where I was last year. I have also just started the DASH diet which is low salt & fat and can show results in BP in two to three weeks. I will also consult my cardio about two 30% blocked arteries that were discovered two years ago during my pre AVR tests. Could they be an issue in higher BP readings?
I will keep you up to date.

https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-...ealthy-eating/in-depth/dash-diet/art-20048456

What you write about how what your thinking seemed to affect your blood pressure reminds me of a study I read some time back, I wish I’d kept a copy of it. It was done on some US airforce guys. On the first occasion they put an arm in a bucket of ice water which led to pain, and then their blood pressure was taken. On the second occasion they were instructed to subtract backwards in 3’s or 7’s, I forget which, from 100 in their heads, not out loud, and then their blood pressure was taken. The blood pressure of all the subjects was higher in the subtracting in their heads section !