Are these cardio symptons

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
E

Elsiedog

This is my first time on this site. I had Ross Procedure to replace AV in March 2001. I felt great afterwards but over the past few months have been getting very tired easily and mild breathlessness, especiallywhen climbing stairs. They found the valve was leaking again and took me in for a further OP. At the last minute ( 8 hours before surgery ) the surgeon decided he was'nt sure the OP was needed and the leak wasnt too bad and that he thought the symptoms I was describing were not common to valve problems.They have put me on tablets and are going to do a further echo in 6 months. They seem confident the leak won't progress but not too sure how they can say this. So now I am waiting again and hoping the leak does'nt progress and that the tablets deal with the tiredness etc. Do these syptoms sound like valve related to anyone else and what should I do, get another opion or trust my cardiologist and see what the test in 6 months brings?

Last edited:
Hi Richard-

Welcome to the site. Regarding your symptoms, it's hard to speculate as to why the surgeon opted to cancel your surgery, but I can tell you what my husband went through with his leaking mitral valve. Let me say first that reops are evaluated very carefully prior to surgery because each time they go in, the risks multiply due to scar tissue and adhesions from previous surgeries. Tests can determine the extent of the leak and your symptoms can tell the doctor how it is affecting you physically.