Introduction - AVR

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparafucile

Hello!

I'm a 65 year old male who has been diagnosed in the past month with aortic valve stenosis: my valve only opens to 0.8 cm/sq.

I'm a lawyer with a sedentary job, overweight and not particularly active. I researched the reputations of both my cardiologist and surgical team - as well as the hospital - before choosing them, and am confident about their skills and the hospital.

My valve replacement surgery is scheduled for Tuesday April 3, and each doctor has outlined the pros and cons of tissue vs. mechanical valve, and informed me that in the next decade, aortic valve replacement via catheter may become commonplace - but that's not guaranteed. If so, that would seal the choice for me for a tissue valve.

I've downloaded and read a number of articles on the subject from medical journals.

I'm not thrilled with the notion of the life complications that ensue with the use of an anti-coagulant - that simple dental surgery becomes complicated, that a moderate cut requires medical care - not to mention the complications of internal bleeding if I were to be in an accident...

Nevertheless, I have not decided which valve - I have another two or three weeks to make my decision.

I'd be interested in hearing about how others have grappled with this decision and how people asses the possibility of future catheter valve replacement - if anyone is interested in sharing their thoughts and feelings. [Yes, I've already searched this forum and read old posts]

Thanks!

I'm not thrilled with the notion of the life complications that ensue with the use of an anti-coagulant - that simple dental surgery becomes complicated, that a moderate cut requires medical care - not to mention the complications of internal bleeding if I were to be in an accident...