What gauge lancet do I need?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
F

Fran

Hi everyone. I'm new to this, so bear with me, please. I don't have a valve replacement, but I do have a pacemaker and am in constant a-fib. So I'm on Warfarin. I just ordered the INRatio meter, but I'm a bit scared. I know all of you have been through a lot more, but I'm a wuss! I've used 28 gauge lancets for diabetes testing, but I've been told that I need to use 21 gauge for PT/INR testing to keep the blood from "hemalyzing", which I think means that if I try to get the blood through a smaller puncture, the blood cells will break and the reading will be wrong.

Well, a 28 is uncomfortable enough, but manageable. A 21 would hurt like #$#%$%. Is anyone using a 28 or 30 for PT/INR testing? Is it accurate? What about this whole "hemolyzing" issue?

HELP!!!

Fran

Fran:

Unlike diabetic testing, we don't test 3Xday. Many of us test only once a week. Therefore, whatever discomfort or momentary pain we feel is of such duration and of such infrequency during a week's time that we can tolerate it.

And it sure beats lab draws!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I use 28ga with no problems. I think the hemolyzing thing is a smoke screen. It never made a lick of difference in readings with me. I used the 21ga for about 50 tests and decided I didn't need a huge hole for a tiny drop of blood. ;)

I think it really depends on how you bleed. I use a 28ga for testing glucose and a 21ga for the INRatio. I do not bleed enough to get enough blood for the INRatio with a 28ga.

I do not find the 21ga all that painful tho. I can certainly feel it more than the 28ga but only intially for such a brief microsecond. It does not continue to hurt.