My mom just had Surgery

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

DoxieDoggs2

Hi!
I am new to this room and was looking for some information about at home care & support. My mom just had her Aortic valve replaced this past Tues (6/17). The surgery went great and she was discharged on Sun (6/22). I have some concerns about her being home so soon and worries about her not getting the proper support mentally and physically from others. She tends to have a very dependent personality anyway but going through this and being scared about Coumadin levels etc We can't seem to do enough for her. I have come back home but my dad and little sister are trying to care for her and they are losing it...I am afraid they will get her too upset. Is there anyone who can e-mail my mom and chat with her on AOL about what she is feeling and help her to be more understanding with the rest of us as we try our best to help her. We are all scared and overwhelmed too. She needs encouragement to do some things for herself but I know she is scared to get too active. Not to mention they just moved into a new home a few weeks before her surgery so the house is full of boxes and very overwhelming....
Just wondering how you might be able to help.

Hi Amy-

She could email to me [email protected]. My husband has had 3 valve surgeries and 2 lung surgeries. He's been on Coumadin for 25 years. He has a mechanical aortic and mitral, plus a pacemaker.

I would be happy to email back and forth with her or the family members. I just ask that she put something in the message line such as "aortic valve surgery", so I don't consider it as spam, and delete it.