They match!

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Protimenow

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
I realize that I may get some heat because I own more than one meter - but both were quite inexpensive (see the thread on Buying on eBay for more details), and I was also able to get the strips affordably.

I've been using a ProTime, and moved up to a ProTime 3 (for a great price), a few months ago. The ProTime 3 strips have dual quality control, and I trust the results. (The result of a test or two taken within minutes of each other by the ProTime and the ProTime 3 matched -- no surprise).

I recently got a brand new CoaguChek S at an amazing price (and I won't go into details here). There was a slight learning curve (which lancet to use, how deep to incise, how to place a drop from finger to strip, etc., how to open that damned foil wrapper the strips come in), but I've been able to get some tests.

I finally decided to do a comparison test between CoaguChek S and ProTime 3. One of the reasons was a drop in INR from 3.8 a week ago to 2.1 this week. (During the week, I started drinking Ovaltine, which has a lot of Vitamin E, and perhaps this dietary change, plus extended physical activity and some minor dehydration changed my INR - still such a drop was kind of surprising).

I wanted to make sure the INR was accurate (and I don't completely trust the CoaguChek S--yet). I attempted to use one puncture for both machines - but got an error on CoaugChek (probably not enough blood). Because the ProTime doesn't want the first drop, I was able to get enough blood for the ProTime 3 to give me a result - 2.2.

A few minutes later, with a new CoaguChek PT strip adequately warmed to do the test, I used a different finger and got enough blood for the test.