searching for a listing of home testing kit options

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mitchner9g

Hello comrades - My name is Adam, and I'm new to anticoagulation therapy after getting two new On-x valves in my pulmonary and aortic outflow tracts last month. I am keen on managing my INR with self testing and am looking for a listing of the various manufacturers of home testing kits.

Please excuse my redundancy if a thread has already been posted apropos to this topic, but I could not find one using the forum search tools. I'm mainly looking for a comprehensive listing of manufacturers. I'd also like to see a comparative study showing how closely these machines match lab testing, but realize that's probably not terribly likely :)

Here are the ones I've found so far, do you have any others that I'm missing?

Many thanks for your feedback.

Last edited:
It looks like you have them all.

You may want to try Google POC - Point of Care Units, which is sometimes the name the monitors go under.

Good luck

Mitch:

You don't have them all. Philips INRAthome is a service that provides you with a meter.

You're missing the ProTime meter. It takes longer to get a result than the InRatio and InRatio2 or the CoaguChek XS and requires more blood than these meters, but is still available from ITC (the manufacturer of ProTime), and is still being supported by them. There's a new ProTime meter being developed that may be submitted to the FDA for approval and, from what I hear, it'll give Roche and Hemosense a run for their money -- if they haven't already lost the market to these companies.