Newbie with questions about pregnancy & artificial valve (mitral)

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kerri73

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie to this forum - very excited I found it! I'm 31 years old and have had an artificial mitral valve since I was 24. Right now I'm going through some tests and might possibly have to have the aortic one replaced as well, and some other problems that I might just have to put in a new post. :) (just had a TEE today... ready for some ice cream!)

Anyway, I'm looking for anyone who might have gone through a pregnancy with an artificial valve (especially a mitral one, since my cardiologist said they're the worst at throwing off clots). She doesn't recommend pregnancy, and I know the risks, so I just haven't decided what to do yet. I'm still in research mode.

If anyone out there has gone through this, I'd love to hear your story and what you did (I hear heparin isn't a reliable drug long-term either).

Thanks so much, and I look forward to talking to all of you!

Kerri :)

You didn't say what type of valve you have so I checked your profile and see that you have had 3 heart surgeries, are on coumadin, and are now having issues with your aortic valve and you are even thinking about pregnancy? (Yes, I see that you are a newlywed).

Being a dog lover, I recommend getting another dog if you feel the need to love something small and cudly. It sounds like your (single) dog could use some help fending off the 3 cats in your family!

But hey, what would I know about pregnancy? :confused:

I'll let the ladies chime in on this one!

'AL Capshaw'