Newbie: Replacing with oversized bioprosthetic

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mwkentner

Hello everyone,
Like many who post for the first time, I want to thank everyone for having/making such a valuable place for research. It is definitely a overwhelming task when you get diagnosed with any type of valve/heart disease, All you want to do is reach out and do as much homework as possible. This forum has been a big help. so my story is.......
I am looking at having my second AVR. My 1st was done at Cleveland Clinic in July 1999, Dr Griffin as my Cardiologist, and McCarthy for my surgeon. I had a Homograft, with miniroot. All went well and never had any side effects. I'm 48 now and feel as if I did well the 1st AVR. I was hoping for 15-18 years before replacement, but it came a little sooner than expected. I work as a Full time Firefighter and have been on active fire companies all those years. So considering I have led a very active life /work style, maybe I strained it a little harder than the norm.
I returned again this past month to the Cleveland clinic after experiencing SOB along with chest pain during heavy activity. I did this after being check and diagnosed with prolapsed mitral valve as well as stenosis of the aortic valve at a local Hosp. they recommended surgery soon.