Is this drop in INR a normal variation?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3mm

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
I just had open heart surgery 7 weeks ago on Sep 14th, so I am still learning about my INR measurements. Yesterday my INR dropped to 1.8 after being in the 2-2.8 range for 4 weeks. Graph is shown below. Should I be worried? I'm being told by the nurse managing my warfarin dose to keep the same dose and we'll check again in 1 week. Since Oct 5th I have taken 5mg warfarin for 3 days each week (Monday, Wed, and Friday), and 4 mg of warfarin on 4 days each week.

1699625310753.png

The coagulation clinic (CAT) that manages my measurements and dosing asked me about any changes to medications, diet, etc. My diet has not changed. I did stop taking Lasix (furosemide) 10 days ago per my cardiologist. Over the last month I've gained about 2 lbs to 137 lbs. Prior to surgery i was about 138 lbs.

The nurse's plan to keep my current warfarin dose schedule is consistent with various guidelines for INR management that I found on hospital and health agency websites. But that downward trend for 2 weeks bothers me. Is this variation in INR normal? Should we be retesting sooner than 1 week?

Thanks!

Your INR will vary while you're healing from your OHS. It's normal.

There was a time when doctors couldn't even PRESCRIBE a home meter for 90 days after surgery because the INR changes during that time.

I'm not comfortable with the clinic telling you to stick with your current dose if your INR was 1.8. Personally, if it was me, I'd slightly increase the dose, just to be safe (say, from 4 mg one day to 4.5). I'm also not real comfortable with the dosing schedule that they've given you -- your INR on the meter will change from day to day because your DOSE isn't consistent.