Enhancing Bioprosthetic Valve Life Post-operatively

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Here's my curiosity. What might be all of the ways to enhance bioprosthetic valve life, AFTER placement? I'm a fit active 66 year old male. Mountain biking, semi-retired and working almost every day, physically on my treefarm.
  • I am 4 years in with an Edwards Magna Ease.
  • I work as an innovation facilitator coach and trainer, often in the Health-care R&D space. Up to now, I have had no clients in the heart valve area.
  • There are two studies I am aware of that seem to indicate magnesium supplementation may delay vascular calcification in general, but nothing about preventing calcification of the Bioprosthetic valve material (Bovine Pericardium) I've been supplementing with Magnesium Citrate 200Mg 2x daily since seeing these studies. https://www.ahajournals.org/doi/full/10.1161/atvbaha.117.309182 and https://openheart.bmj.com/content/5/1/e000668
Anyone else know of anything else to do, or contradictory studies RE: Magnesium supplementation?

Appreciations!
Bob

What I've read is that there is nothing one can do to change the deterioration of your native valve or a replacement tissue valve. It is what it is. Since they really don't know why one person has problems and another does not, science based treatment is basically an educated guess.