CoreValve Bioprosthesis?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ranae1221

I'm a newbie here, and I hope its ok I am posting here when its not about myself, and I apologize this may be long.

I take care of my grandparents, and we recently found out, like a few days ago, that my grandpa has severe aortic stenosis. He was hospitalized for having a low BP and heart rate. While there, an echocardiogram was done. We were told he had this, and the doctor then pulled me aside and told me that when someone has aortic stenosis and begins to exhibit symptoms (the shortness of breath, syncope) it shortens the life span. She said they couldn't be sure if his symptoms were related to the heart stenosis, or his other diagnosis (CHF, COPD). But if related to the stenosis, he may have only 3-6 months.

A local heart doc was consulted (his heart doc is 3 hours away) and they said he is too high risk to do the surgery here locally (his age and history of renal failure).

They contacted the heart doc in Phoenix, and Grandpa is scheduled for an angiogram on 07/06/10. The doc office called me today to say that the heart doc reviewed the echo and agrees a valve replacement would likely be needed, but he wanted to concentrate on putting the 2 stents in his legs and doing the angiogram for now. I told them that Grandpa wants the surgery and doesn't want to wait (he says he doesn't want to stay alive the way he is now, he is willing to take the risk of surgery if it means he will feel better). She was going to talk to the doctor, and mentioned that when Grandpa does have surgery, it would likely be a CoreValve device. I don't understand why the doc would want to wait if it is as bad as they are making it sound, unless he is thinking of not doing the surgery or thinking it would be too much at once for him.