Cold Weather Running

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tommy

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
I could use some tips on running in cold weather. Pllllllllease no jokes about it not getting cold in Texas.:D

I started running in August. Took a "break" for hernia surgery, and am back at it. I'm again up to 4-5 miles at a time. Since July, I've put in 75 miles running and another 200 walking. Yesterday ran 4 miles in under 40 minutes - never did that before.

There is a local 5k this Saturday and the weather is about to take the temp down to upper 20's at race time. I have zero experience running in the upper 20's and won't have a chance for a practive run at those temps. I don't expect to win any trophies, but want to do well and be "comfortable".

Any tips on what (not) to wear? How to warm up?

Thanks.

Hello Tom!

Hello Tom!

The old rule to remember: If you're comfortable before you start the race, you're overdressed. Better to start out a little cool, because you'll warm up soon enough. Layering is important. I wear a Cool-Max long sleeve shirt under either a sweatshirt or a hooded sweater. Pants are either a lined nylon type, or if windy and in the teens or 20's, I'll wear a Gore-Tex running suit over everything. Blocks the wind completely. I like a glove liner with simple, cheap garden gloves over them or,if high wind, nylon ski gloves over the liners. Winter or summer, Thorlo socks provide comfort and wicking. Keep your shoes dry no matter what! Never been much for warming up...just like to get started and warm up that way. Best of luck on your 5K....You'll do great!

Tom,