Anyone have any experience with the Sorin Mechanical Valve?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a Carbomedics/Sorin mechanical valve close to 5 years, and after a couple of CT scans and a echo every year everything around the valve looks good.

Not sure what kind of "experience" your asking?

All the bi-leaflet valves look so similar. I was looking at Sorin Carbomedics, SaintJude Regent and On-X images on each of their websites and then all looked pretty similar, if not almost identical. If someone gave me these 3 mechanical valves, unless I studied them closely, I do not think I would know which one is which.

My surgeon uses the Sorin Carbomedics valve. Its a great valve, I was his first On-X... personal choice. If you end up with any of the 4 popular valves you'll be doing fine even though I lean toward the On-X more : )

I have a Sorin/Carbomedics valve. It was my surgeon's choice, and when I asked whether we might want to consider others, he suggested (and I agreed) that there was merit in using a valve with a long track record of good durability. Prior to my surgery I found a study somewhere with tracked valves and recorded mechanical failures. In that study of tens of thousands of patients (as I recall) it was the only one without a single mechanical failure in well more than a decade of use.
My personal experience of it is that it is quiet (though loud in the first months, I rarely hear it now) has great flow, evidenced by my ever shrinking 3 mile time, and is supported by an organization attentive and decent enough to send me an actual sample when I wrote to them, so I now have an identical valve I can show any curious friends who ask.
If your surgeon loves them, and you're asking advice, mine is to go for it!