Worried about the future

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JannerJohn

What is the real expected lifespan of an ascending aorta dacron graft and on-x mechanical valve (assuming no other illnesess). I'm 49 and the surgeon seems to imply for life is this a realiatic expectation? I have severe stenotic bicuspid Aortic Valve with root and ascending aorta dilation but I'm asymptomatic.

I have a st Jude (aortic) with Dacron. I was told for life. I hope so as I was 41, just shy of 42 at my surgery and I am now 47. Counting on at least 50 years!

What is the real expected lifespan of an ascending aorta dacron graft and on-x mechanical valve (assuming no other illnesess). I'm 49 and the surgeon seems to imply for life is this a realiatic expectation?

I have no knowledge about the dacron graft, but at your age of 49, the likelihood of the valve lasting your lifetime is very reasonable. Mechanical valves are "built for the long haul". I was hoping to get 20 years out of mine....but it's been over 50 years so far.

They are supposed to last a lifetime and I believe that would be the expectation at your age. There are exceptions and complications can happen that necessitate reoperation, but it seems that the norm is for them to last many decades and that it would probably outlive you. Are you also considering a biological valve, or are you 100% going with the mechanical?

What is the real expected lifespan of an ascending aorta dacron graft and on-x mechanical valve (assuming no other illnesess). I'm 49 and the surgeon seems to imply for life is this a realiatic expectation? I have severe stenotic bicuspid Aortic Valve with root and ascending aorta dilation but I'm asymptomatic.