What are the differences in Home Testing Devices?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sharon

Hi Everyone,

I've been using my Protime - the 3 channel kind - for many years. I can't tell you how many times I've had to redo tests. I would estimate that I've screwed up at least 1/3 of my tests over the years. I've never found it easy to use for some reason, but when I do it right, it's always on target. The error message is usually a "bubble" problem. The new machines seem lots smaller and look to be easier to use. Can someone please tell me what the differences are among the 3? I also read something in a previous post about using a lance that is 21 or 26 gauge - what's that all about?

My insurance wouldn't cover my first Protime and they won't cover a new one either. They won't even pay for my test strips. Did anyone else have to pay for their units out-of-pocket and if so, who has the best price for the units and also the strips?

Thank you for your help.

Sharon Feldman
AVR St Jude's 4/1997
Rochester General Hospital, Rochester, NY

Sharon I'm no fan of the Protime unit. It seems to yield the most error results of all of the 3 offered. I'll take the INRato of Coaguchek any day over it. As for this forum, I can only say that we back those approved by the manufactures. but that doesn't mean you cannot look for a better price elsewhere.

The INRatio and Coaguchek take far less samples to get results, they are a whole lot smaller, just better all the way around.

Your used to using the tenderlett slicer device. With these other two, you could continue to use them, but it's cheaper to get regular lancets, which come in different size needles. I prefer 30 gauge myself, but many people cannot get an ample drop of blood using it, so most people use 21 or 26 gauge lancets.

Paying for it?

Paying for it?

Hi Sharon,