Sternum Wires

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

almost_hectic

Is it possible for sternum wires to move or shift position? I'm almost six months out from Ministernotomy for AVR and mostly I feel great. Every once in a while though I get pain on the right side of my chest just to the side of my sternum. It's like moving a certain way or something will trigger it once in a while. Or if I found I slep on my side overnight. The pain usually goes away after a couple of days, but until it does I'm very stiff and almost afraid to move for fear of sharp pain. Is this from wires, or just like a cartilage injury, referred nerve pain, I can't figure it out? Over time do the sternum wires get fused to the bone and like grown over, or are they always there right under soft tissue? Can anyone educate me on this?

I'm not a medical professional, so I can only speak from my own experience. As I understand it, by about 8-12 weeks, the bone is pretty much healed. The wires may become buried, but they may also remain close to the surface. I am almost 5 years out from surgery, but I can still feel some of my wires under the skin, if I press and shift the skin around.

It is possible the pain you are feeling could be the tip or end of one of your wires, which may poking the soft tissue around it. I doubt that it has anything to do with bone shifting or moving. That said, though, I would want to have it checked out, preferably by the surgeon, as he is more likely to understand the implications of loose wire ends, irritation, etc. I would not want to have you develop an infection around that wire due to the irritation. That could be nasty.