Spike for no reason?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am so grateful for this thread!!

I am a coumadin newbie and I'm having a really hard time with it. All my life I've never been one for consistency in diet, exercise, alcohol, etc. There are times when all I want to eat are leafy greens and others when I go weeks without. Same with exercise. If I'm training for a race, I run 20+ miles per week. Then there could be weeks/months with no running at all.

All this to say, I'm having a hard time regulating my coumadin.

After testing consistently in the low 2's all of April (despite weekly increases of dosage), my INR jumped to 6.25 this week!! 😩

Since I'm a coumadin newbie (only been taking for 3 months) and my regular cardiologist is on the COVID frontlines I have been having difficulty in getting consistent guidance on how to change dosage when neccessary. I obviously ramped up dosage way too much this past week. But looking through some responses on this thread, I'm also guilty of other things... like not eating as much vitamin k rich foods, exercising a bit less this week, more wine than usual. You name it!

How long will it take to feel comfortable in all this. 6+ INR is crazy high and I don't want that scare again (already worked with a Dr. on a plan to get that number down, btw).

My biggest concern is... do I have to start tracking every single thing I eat/do for the rest of my life? 😥 How long did it take all of you to get a handle on this?