Roche Coaguchek XS

Help Support ValveReplacement.org:

Unicusp

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
170
I have always wondered why the prices on ebay were always higher than the online store of a company and I am talking about new unused products. I tried today to open a corporate account and calculated that the service cost together with the paypal cost is about 20-30%.
Most of the ebay listings I saw (in the US) were for used equipment. Did see a new one for $550.. Do these come with a date of manufacture so one could verify how old a new meter is? Does it matter? Thanks.
 

ATHENS1964

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
196
I do not have any answer ,the serial number could possibly give me some information. Buying a used device is a lottery, if it has fallen or had an operational problem you can never know. Because our lives now depend on anticoagulants, I think one should only buy a new one with a used one, you will always have a doubt. I think that if someone for example pays 700 euros and uses it for 10 years, it is 70 euros a year, I think it is something that one can pay.
I wish I could serve you by sending it but it is difficult, if you were in Europe we would find some way I buy directly from ROCHE with an invoice that states the serial number of the device.
 

Unicusp

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
170
Why?
It's easy to establish if it works.

Mine is now nearly 10 years old. It's sure used
The Roche rep did state something about violating FDA guidelines when attempting to sell used due to blood products in the meter from prior person.
 

pellicle

Professional Dingbat
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
8,017
Location
Queensland, OzTrayLeeYa
The Roche rep did state something about violating FDA guidelines when attempting to sell used due to blood products in the meter from prior person.
that's hilarious ... I think the rep was feeding you a line of BS

so, what about the Australian supplier link, the prices are (of course) in Australian Dollars. They are new and in box.

Also there were quite a few others if you followed that eBay link which were very well priced.

guidelines ... what a joker

1615175362528.png


I don't know if you understand this, but you bleed onto the strip, not into the machine ... have you looked at my blog post about this?

ultimately its your decision and I have nothing to gain or lose from what you decide.

Best Wishes

(tapping out on this topic)
 

Unicusp

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 30, 2021
Messages
170
that's hilarious ... I think the rep was feeding you a line of BS

so, what about the Australian supplier link, the prices are (of course) in Australian Dollars. They are new and in box.

Also there were quite a few others if you followed that eBay link which were very well priced.

guidelines ... what a joker

View attachment 887609

I don't know if you understand this, but you bleed onto the strip, not into the machine ... have you looked at my blog post about this?

ultimately its your decision and I have nothing to gain or lose from what you decide.

Best Wishes

(tapping out on this topic)
Thanks, I appreciate your assistance. Yes, I understand how it works, just relayed what the rep stated. Yes, it was rediculous.
I still have much to read on this topic. Taking the exchange rate into effect, they are significantly less expensive from Australia.
Damn test strips are expensive! Captive audience.
 

pellicle

Professional Dingbat
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
8,017
Location
Queensland, OzTrayLeeYa
Damn test strips are expensive!
again I'll say ebay ... many of our other members here use eBay in the USA, there are probably pharmacies who will do it. The usual price is about AU$150 for 24 strips which is under $7 a test. Compared with going to the lab, waiting turn, paying parking and then going either to or back to work for $7 a week ... well I'd call that cheap
 

ATHENS1964

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 19, 2019
Messages
196
1. Μy device has the software version 01.01.14YT yours? Do you even have an upgrade? has a new version from November 2020.


2. How long do you need to clean the device?
I mean we need to remove the cover and clean the area where we put the stripe ?
 

pellicle

Professional Dingbat
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
8,017
Location
Queensland, OzTrayLeeYa
How long do you need to clean the device?
I mean we need to remove the cover and clean the area where we put the stripe ?
I just clean mine when it gets dirty (blood spatters) and have only once or twice looked under the blue cover.

I always store mine in it's case (like a CD case of years gone by).
 
Top