pre-surgery anxiety

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sylviayasgur

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
hi everyone! i am very new at this whole forum thing;
please bear with me.
my husband, joey, has had aortic stenosis and insufficiency
all his life. they think it was congenital or maybe a bout of
rheumatic fever that no one picked up on. either way, we've
been really fortunate for the last 19 years, dealing with a few
bouts of a-fib and changing/ adjusting meds. for the most part
though, he's been active and we hike and mountain bike frequently.
we have 2 daughters, 17 and almost 14.
joey went in for a routine echo in april and the results showed
his stenosis progressing. his cardiologist suggested he come in
for another echo in july to see if there is any difference, and there
was. his cardiologist said it was time to shop for a surgeon.
we met with dr. steltzer who specializes in the ross procedure.
we really liked him a lot and joey is on his surgical schedule for
sept.12 for a ross procedure.
meanwhile, he is scheduled for a cath this wed.9/5 and we are meeting
with a second surgeon (craig smith) on thurs. 9/6.
joey is also on his surgical schedule (also tentatively) for sept.12.
it's at the point now where joey can no longer run and
often feels short of breath. we are both very nervous and scared.
i know having time is good in order to make the right decision,
but we both wish the day would come and go.
we are leaning toward the ross, but it is disconcerting to think of
using 2 valves to fix one. dr. stelzer, however, says that joey is the
perfect ross candidate. any suggestions?
i could cry when i read how you are all so caring and supportive of
one another.
i hope i can contribute. thank you for being here.

Hi Sylvia,

Hi Sylvia,