Newbie here

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martin1962

Hi, just out of hospital in the UK following mitral valve replacement with a mechanical one 2.5 weeks ago. Lengthy stay due to developing heart block and having to have a pacemaker fitted as well. Disappointed not to have had a valve repair as originally planned since I was considered to be an excellent candidate. The surgeon tried unsuccessfully to effect a repair but ended up taking it out and replacing with a mechanical one.

I agonised for months before surgery on the decision whether to opt for a tissue or mechanical valve if repair wasn't viable, and really didn't know what to do. In the end I went for mechanical based mainly on my age (I'm 59), most likely favourable long term prognosis, and not wanting further procedures or replacements in my old age! However I keep having doubts now on whether I made the right decision especially as I start getting into the full implications of a lifetime on warfarin and INR testing (the prospect of possibly severely curtailing my moderate alcohol intake I find particularly depressing - although I'm getting conflicting advice on this!).

Of course there's no point now in worrying over it, it's done and I have to get on and the make the best of it.