Newbie here...wondering about long distance travel post-op...

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Just ASK

I have perused this excellent forum for the past 3 weeks, ever since having an echo done showing that my 45 year old heart has a lovely stenotic, calcified aortic valve as the source of my recent SOB and lightheadedness after very minimal exertion. I am currently awaiting word about the initial review of my TEE and cath results from Dr. Gosta Petterssons team at the Cleveland Clinic. Luckily, it seems that my only problem is the AV itself, so no CABG or aortic aneurysms to deal with. I am assuming that they give me the big thumbs up (strangely, I want to hear them tell me "Yes, you need surgery" :D ... I find this oddly amusing) and I head to Cleveland from my home in Pensacola, FL.

My question is between the choice of flying back (approx 6-8 hrs) or driving back (20 hours), which would you choose? The drive could be split into multiple days and be accomplished in 2 "phases" as my folks live in NC at a point about 1/2 way between Cleveland and Pensacola. It would probably mean 2 days to cover the first 10 hours and then a few days to regroup before making the last leg over 2 more days. In other words, lots of driving/stopping/driving. I have read that most folks "felt every bump" when driving, so the shorter duration of flight seems appealing.

So, 1) in how many days post surgery will I be ready to travel, assuming there are no complications? and 2) should I fly and get it over with or 'take the long way home' and do the multi day drive?

Any insight is welcome!:thumbup:

Mr ASK , a heart felt WELCOME to our OHS family