Newbie here. Just got out of the hospital today

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Enigmalady777

Hi, newbie here. Just got home from the hospital today (MVR was done 3/29/18) and boy I can say I didn't expect to be this wiped out!! I know it takes time, and it will get better, but having little help around the house is taking it's toll on me. Words or encouragement are all appreciated, lol.

Hang in there, but I would suggest finding a family member or friend who can maybe stay with you for a few days or more. When I got home I couldn't even open the refrigerator by myself. The pain hurt my sternum far too much to pull the door open. Also since you live alone it sounds like, maybe check with your insurance they may cover having a nurse come check on you at home. Mine did. They sent a nurse to check on me several times and even a physical therapist to come and walk with me to help recovery.

Hi

and welcome ... to the "other side" :)

Enigmalady777;n882715 said:
...Just got home from the hospital today (MVR was done 3/29/18) and boy I can say I didn't expect to be this wiped out!! I know it takes time, and it will get better, but having little help around the house is taking it's toll on me. Words or encouragement are all appreciated, lol.

well knowing that is more than half the battle won. Winning happens first in the mind and next in execution.

I dunno how old you are but having done it a couple of times (once with little help at all, but younger) I understand that it feels ****.

Take everything on a new time schedule (who cares if it takes 3 times longer to make coffee , you have nothing else to do and it'll taste all the better (well actually it may not because some people get altered tastes after surgery for a bit ... but you know what I mean ;-) ...

It gets better faster and by next week you'll be better off.