MVR what valve type to choose

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rnff2

Looking at MVR in Jan. I’m 43 and have had 2 previous open heart surgeries. I assumed that due to my surgeries and age I would be given a mechanical valve with no other option. When I sat down with my surgeon and he went over both bioprosthetic tissue valve and mechanical valves and told me that he feels it is a 50/50 decision on which way to go. He gave me info about anticoagulant therapy, lifestyle changes and the risk of strokes if I go mechanical and then the risk of reoperation in 10+ years if I go with the bioprosthetic tissue valve. He also believes that a reoperation will be low as mitral valve replacements via catheter will be happening in the next few years.
I am an ER nurse and also have a lot of cardiac experience. Coumadin is not a drug that I care to be on, the risk of strokes involved and the possibility of the clicking valve makes mechanical less appealing. But not knowing what the future may bring and possibly having another surgery in 10 years is also not appealing. I really do feel it is a 50/50 split choice considering my history, my lifestyle and knowledge of medicine after talking with my doctor and his staff. I sort of wish he wouldn’t have given me an option I had resigned myself that that wasn’t an option and was going to have to do what I have to do and get mechanical and just deal with it. Now…I’m more confused than ever.

It has to be tough to make a decision when your surgeon and your own professional experience says "it's a 50/50 choice". All you can do is make your educated choice and then go about living your life.