Joining the Valve replacement Family

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 17402

Hi everyone,

I am a 20 year old who just underwent aortic valve replacement as of two weeks ago. They replaced my faulty and calcified bicuspid valve with a 25 mm Carbomedic "Top Hat" mechanical valve. Initially my surgeon was deciding to use the St. Jude Mechanical, however, based on his findings during the operation and my active lifestyle he opted to use the supra annular valve. A little about myself, I am a VERY active person and have been my entire life. I run an average of 30-35 miles a week and go to the gym 6 days a week to put it into perspective. I played football and basketball in high school and am a very passionate hunter and outdoorsman. After I graduated high school, I became a firefighter and worked two tireless summers before landing a job on a helitack crew. This job is very unique as it combines the fundamentals of wildland firefighting and air rescue hoist operations all in one. This job is very physical and you have to be in extremely good shape because after the helicopter drops you off you rely solely on your crew. On a crew like this, you are only as strong as your weakest link. I was very lucky to have been given the opportunity at such a young age and am hoping I will be able to come back next season. I have an end goal in sight to become a flight nurse and have been chugging away at my prerequisites for nursing school in the off season. As all things go, the valve replacement was a very large kink in my life plan. The doctor sat me down and we discussed our options. Being as young as I am, the best route for my life in my opinion was the mechanical valve. I was not afraid of taking blood thinners in the slightest as many people use them and can be monitored easily. As for bleeding, I will now carry hemostatic gauze and a tourn