IUD & Warfarin

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ManiSham

hi, Just wanted to check whether it is safe to get an IUD ( intrauterine device) while on warfarin. I know I need to check with my doctor but does any one of you ladies have any experience with this?

gosh I love the diversity of questions here. Of course I have no experience in this (being a male) but I would suggest it depends on if you use a hormonal or metal (say copper) one. I would not expect them to be causing any substantial tissue damage normally and so if you are not experiencing bleeding from using it pre-warfarin then you should be fine post.

I'll be interested to read any experiences or more informed views.

Best Wishes

My doctors told me that an IUD was the best type of birth control to use with a mechanical valve and warfarin, as there is a risk of clots with oral and other types of birth control. (The risk is inherent in the drugs themselves and not related to the use of warfarin.)

My doctors told me that an IUD was the best type of birth control to use with a mechanical valve and warfarin, as there is a risk of clots with oral and other types of birth control. (The risk is inherent in the drugs themselves and not related to the use of warfarin.)

What type of IUD is he recommending? There is the Mirena IUD which contains progesterone and is supposed to be relatively safe for us female 'valvers'. However, one doctor told me that the risk of endocarditis is there (although low) and he definitely recommended antibiotic prophylaxis prior to this IUD being placed.

Pellicle, I am impressed with your knowledge base. :)

Last edited:
What type of IUD is he recommending? There is the Mirena IUD which contains progesterone and is "supposed" to be relatively safe for us female 'valvers'. However, one doctor told me that the risk of endocarditis is