I can't even GIVE my meters away

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

Protimenow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
4,016
Location
California
I'm streamlining my place, and I've got more meters than I really need.

I have three PT1 meters - the original Coag-Sense meters, and I probably maybe need one. Listing them on eBay is a hassle. These don't have strips - you'll have to buy them to use them.

I have probably one more CoaguChek XS meter than I really need for backup. The meter won't have the back or strip guide, and is the same thing as you can buy on eBay for $29.95 (which is where I got mine).

I offered meters on a few threads, but these may have been buried. I had no replies.

If you're interested in getting a Coag-Sense meter, or one of my CoaguChek XS meters, send me a private message.

You'll be doing me two favors: letting me know that I'm helping you, and helping me to clean out my house.
 

pellicle

Professional Dingbat
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
10,434
Location
Queensland, OzTrayLeeYa
ebay ... anyone here who isn't averse to buying a used one has already done so. But you just never know if your grand child pulled it apart and set off the calibration (cautioned a well known scientist), so some are cautious. It is after all magic and must come with the magic script (warranty) unless it comes from a temple (like an insurance company) with a blessing.
 

Protimenow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
4,016
Location
California
Pellicle: Thanks for your thoughtful analysis.

I created a new thread about my efforts to give these meters away, and even specifically offered a meter to a few on this site.

I may just break down and list the meters on eBay. (Donating to Goodwill or Salvation Army or other charity would probably do no good, unless the meters find themselves into the hands of those who need one). Maybe cardiologists who are too cheap to buy the meters and test in their offices, or who may have patients who really want to self-test but can't afford a meter could be a target.

My first meter was a gift from a seller on eBay (I later sent him some money, but he didn't ask for it), and I've given a few meters away, but I'd like to do good with the meters that I really don't need.
 

Chuck C

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
1,694
I'd like to do good with the meters that I really don't need.

Good for you for your generosity. I'm sure if you give it time that there will be individuals from this site who take you up on your offer. Even if someone uses the lab every 4-6 weeks and is comfortable with that, I would think that they would see the benefit in running a self test now and then in between lab visits.
 

Warrick

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
764
Location
New Zealand
Good stuff Protimenow, there's a self tester out there that just doesn't know it yet :)
I have found both offering meters on threads and also PM people when you see them post questions asking about self testing or the cost of new meters. The more we can share the self empowerment the better!
 

Protimenow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
4,016
Location
California
I have one person (so far) who has requested a meter.
Thanks Pellicle for your thoughts about Goodwill or another charity. You're right, they'll have no takers, they won't know what it is, they probably won't be able to sell it, and, as you said, it'll wind up in a landfill.

Warrick - great idea. I've commented in a few posts from people saying they can't afford a meter, but have had no takers.

One committed - one or two to go.
 

ashaw

New member
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
2
Location
Houston, Texas
I have one person (so far) who has requested a meter.
Thanks Pellicle for your thoughts about Goodwill or another charity. You're right, they'll have no takers, they won't know what it is, they probably won't be able to sell it, and, as you said, it'll wind up in a landfill.

Warrick - great idea. I've commented in a few posts from people saying they can't afford a meter, but have had no takers.

One committed - one or two to go.
I am interested in the meter, but do not know how to obtain replacement test strips. I used to home test (and preferred it to going into the lab) but when I moved my job changed my health care provider. The new provider does not offer home testing.
 

Chuck C

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
1,694
I am interested in the meter, but do not know how to obtain replacement test strips. I used to home test (and preferred it to going into the lab) but when I moved my job changed my health care provider. The new provider does not offer home testing.

I buy mine on Ebay. I buy packs of 24 strips, which are usually sold for about $4 to $6 per strip.
 

Protimenow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
4,016
Location
California
The meter I am sending first is a Coag-Sense. At times, I've been able to get strips for as little as $2-3 each.

I found a medical distributor who will sell me 50 Coag-Sense strips for $219, delivered (about $4.35 a strip). For anyone who wants one of the meters, I'd be happy to sell strips at cost, so you'll have something to test on.

If you get a CoaguChek XS, the 24 strip packages DO cost around $4-6 a strip (as Chuck C said).
 

sharky7

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
102
Location
SOUTH FLORIDA
I buy mine on Ebay. I buy packs of 24 strips, which are usually sold for about $4 to $6 per strip.
I also buy mine, Ebay, I am able to catch them at a low price, i think, $200usd for the 48 2 pack/box items. About the same as your cost, $4-5usd per strip. I have noticed though that I seem to be getting errors, when i shouldnt be, though. need to keep a better eye on it i guess. Are there any others having this little "problem"? i say it that way, cause i consider it a blessing to be able to HOMETEST, it allows me to sleep much better not needing to know if INR is within range or not, IT IS A BLESSING also i guess that i have the equity to do it, and to be able to come here and have those like Chuck to help me and all of us out, thank you chuck, and everyone else, we all are blessed to have you here and it is important for you to know this!!!
 

Protimenow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
4,016
Location
California
I've run into some errors on my XS. The most common error is user error - not a large enough blood sample.

What I'm doing now, usually successfully, is getting a good drop of blood - I might do a propeller motion, swinging my arm rapidly up and down, or warm my hand before incising the finger - Roche also says you can bring the blood to the fingertip by moving the blood up from the finger before incising it. Warming the hand also helps.

I learned, after wasting a strip or two, to touch the drop to the side of the strip AND HOLD IT THERE until the meter shows that the testing has started. At first, I pulled my finger away too quickly.

Yes, it's a blessing to be able to test at home.
 

sharky7

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
102
Location
SOUTH FLORIDA
The meter I am sending first is a Coag-Sense. At times, I've been able to get strips for as little as $2-3 each.

I found a medical distributor who will sell me 50 Coag-Sense strips for $219, delivered (about $4.35 a strip). For anyone who wants one of the meters, I'd be happy to sell strips at cost, so you'll have something to test on.

If you get a CoaguChek XS, the 24 strip packages DO cost around $4-6 a strip (as Chuck C said).
YESSSS, get mine on Ebay like i said, and at about the same cost, 48 strips for around $200usd, which seems to be the price everyone can get if they catch em just at the right time. and of course try and watch what the EXPIRE date is, etc. AND BTW, care to share who ya getting yours from, even though i just bought 2 boxes of 24, I may check em out when i need more.....K? thank you. HHO
 

Chuck C

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
1,694
I have noticed though that I seem to be getting errors, when i shouldnt be, though. need to keep a better eye on it i guess. Are there any others having this little "problem"?
Hi Sharky.

Personally, I have not had this problem. Every now and then I will test my meter and strips against a blood draw from the lab. It has always been almost exactly the same INR reading and sometimes it is exactly the same. I think this is a good idea, whether one is using a meter and strips bought on Ebay, or whether said meter is supplied by the almighty insurance carrier. I do make sure to only buy from Ebay sellers with very high feedback ratings.
 

Warrick

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
764
Location
New Zealand
Apart from the error 5 I think it is for not enough blood I reckon generally most other errors are attributable to batteries.
I was getting error 8 every time after it went thru the strip warm up, battery meter looked good.
Weeks of this went by and i thought it must be dodgy strips, but then I read something on here about batteries... changed them and same strip batch but I haven't had that error since and that was a few months ago now.
Tilt the meter up at the strip end when you apply the blood drop seems to work wonders curing the not enough blood frustrations...
 

Protimenow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
4,016
Location
California
I had an XS Plus (maybe a Pro). I started getting Error #8. I changed batteries, and even tested with the meter attached to external power. Roche told me that the meter didn't work.
I didn't want to waste any more strips on this machine.

I'm getting a Pro - it has many of the same screens as the InRange, and I'm hoping this will work well.
 

tom in MO

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 17, 2012
Messages
1,936
Location
MO USA
You can get errors when the batteries start to get low. I had some errors and called the number in the instructions after II burned through some strips. They ran me through a few things and recommended I replace the batteries with new ones. I did and it worked. I change them about every 2 years now.

For many in the US, the meters are free and it's the strips and lancets you pay for. That's the way it is for my BCBS plan. They don't tell you that, but if you look at the bill, you don't get charged for the meter and if you ask, they tell you it's free. When BCBS changed providers, the new provider sent me a new free meter with a mailer to return the old one.
 
Last edited:

PeterII

Liborio
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
257
Location
Toronto
I've run into some errors on my XS. The most common error is user error - not a large enough blood sample.

What I'm doing now, usually successfully, is getting a good drop of blood - I might do a propeller motion, swinging my arm rapidly up and
I used to have problems getting the drop out of the finger, so read here about using a rubber band and that helped a bit, but then another person posted he uses a dental floss and THAT works like a charm, the only thing is that you have to mind the time, 15 secs is the recommended time from puncture to placing the drop on the strip, this works for me 100% of the time, the rubber 80%
 
Top