Cops On Coumadin

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SHEEPDOG

I LIVE IN BUFORD, GA. AND WORK IN ATLANTA, GA
Ok, I Need Some Help From Those In The Know. I Am A Police Officer And I Am Looking At AN AVR (AORTIC VALVE REPLACEMENT, I THINK AVR IS THE ABREVIATED VERSION) In July. I Really Dont Want Another Surgery In 10 - 15 Years So I Am Leaning Towards A Mech Valve. I Dont Think My Department Will Let Me Work On The Meds Though I Think Others May. Are There Any Cops Out There On Coumadin? What Are The Physical Restrictions? How Does Pt Affect Levels? Help!!

Thanks

Last edited:
I have been a cop for 24 yrs and have had a valve repair and I am on coumadin temporaily. I have a coworker that has been on coumadin for 2 yrs and it hasn't been a problem and no one at the agency has restricted him.

Sheepdog it seems to be different for every agency. Some have no problems with it, others treat you like your an invalid which is far from truth. Have you checked your agencies policy? May I ask how old you are?

There should be no restrictions after a thorough recovery. This can be as little as 6 weeks and as long as one year. Use common sense. If your up against someone wanting to cut you, do your best to subdue the subject before he can or find something to block his advances with. Even if you weren't on Coumadin, if you get involved with a knife fight, your going to be in trouble.

The more active you are, the more Coumadin you'll require to maintain your INR range. This is because you have more blood flowing and filtering through the liver.

You may want to check out Al Lodwick at www.warfarinfo.com

Here is an excerpt from one of his publishings: